Forks in the Road

I have so much ambition that I am not sure where I will be going with my career.  To help myself determine what I want to do in life I’ve broken my career options into four categories: Marketing Research, Entrepreneurship, Academia, and Miscellaneous.

Marketing Research

This is what I’m gearing towards.  I’ve taken a couple market research courses, I have an internship at a research firm, my resume portrays me as a market researcher.  This is my goal and I believe my internship will solidify it.  I need only to find a career that will take me with my undergraduate degree, continue to educate myself in statistical software, and much more undoubtedly.

Entrepreneurship

I’m a creative, intelligent, and reasonable individual (let’s not forget humble).  I have studied a bit of business and put my hands on several projects in the real world.  I see a few places which I may be able to fill the gap with an idea, a service or a product.  I know that being an entrepreneur is something that intrigues me, though the key importance for me is Multiple Streams of Income.  I simply need the initial knowledge and the initial capital to get an idea or two off the ground.

Academia

Ever since a professor of mine made mention of this idea it’s been stuck in my head.  Many thanks to PhD Comics for being a hilarious look into the world of PhD candidates!  I like the idea of academia as I do enjoy being at a university, surrounded by people attempting to improve their lot in life, receive an education, and change the world (results may vary per undergraduate student).  I like the idea of performing research and doing statistics.  The field of Quantitative Psychology is something that really intrigues me.  It’s also a field which apparently has a need for more students.  For this I need to get some more research experience I believe, as well as do very well on the G.R.E. in order to hopefully receive a great deal of financial aid (i.e. the kind which I don’t have to pay back).

Miscellaneous

This compromises everything else that I want to do, have interest in, or think of it as a backup plan.  Freelance web design, traditional marketing, interactive marketing, becoming a German teacher, working as a translator, etc.  Some of these double-dip with Entrepreneurship, but are not my main focus when I think of being an entrepreneur.

The most aggravating problem is that each of these paths requires a great deal of preparation and specialization!  Unfortunately, one is never sure what they will be doing in the future.  In the least I have an idea (several in actuality) of what I want to do after my graduation.  I’m banking on the fact that my internship will greatly help me with my decisions.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment